Thank you for your response.

Our Admission Team would get in touch with you soon.

Enter your details to get program information

Select State
Select Programme

An OTP has been sent to your mobile no.

Please enter to complete your registration

Click here to submit again if mobile number entered was incorrect.

If you still did not receive 4 digit code, please write to admissions@nituniversity.in or call 1800-103-5050


Dr. Arun Nigavekar

Faculty, Arun Nigavekar - NIIT University

Raja Ramanna Fellow, Senior Advisor & Trustee, Science & Technology Park, University of Pune.

(Former Chairman, University Grants Commission, New Delhi, Former Vice Chancellor, Pune University, Founder Director, NAAC)

Professor Arun Nigavekar, born in 1942, is a well-known Physicist and renowned educationist with 45 years of experience. His significant contributions have been use of technology for enhancement of utility and quality of higher education and internationalization of higher education. The path breaking one being an initiation of concept of Quality in Higher Education, for which he was aptly called as a father of quality movement in higher education in India by the Former President of India, Honorable Dr. APJ Abdul Kalam. He was awarded numerous Fellowships for his outstanding performance in academics.

He was Chairman and Vice Chairman of UGC between 2000 & 2005. He was a moving force behind formulating of strategy for development of higher education in the Tenth Plan of Government of India. He served as the Vice Chancellor of University of Pune.He has been a Chairman of several Committees set by the State Governments and World Institutions’ as well as Government of India in the domain of new policies in professional and higher education, creating of quality related standards and methods for judging the quality, devising of new approaches for selection of candidates for Civil and other Services at Central Government level, policy and approach for training in IT, Energy, Bio-Science & Technology, Electronic Media industries.

A Professor in Materials Science in Pune University since 1977, he established Center for Advanced Studies in Physics in Pune in 1980. He has 70 research publications to his credit. He was a Director of Educational Media Research Center in Pune and established Communication Science Department in Pune University in nineties. He was a Visiting Professor in University of York in U.K. and University of Western Ontario in Canada in eighties. His contributions in science education, as a founder editor of Physics Educational Journal, a journal of international repute, are recognized globally. He is a permanent member and was Vice-Chairman of Asian Physics Education Network, a UNESCO organization.

He was a member of UGC in 1993-1996 and initiated several reforms like decentralization of UGC administration, corpus for higher education institution. He was a founder Director of National Assessment and Accreditation Council, an autonomous body of UGC. He developed instrument and methodology for judging quality in complex Indian higher education system, which is endorsed by International Network for Quality Assuring Agencies in Higher Education (INQUAHE). He was a member of Distance Education Council and is also an adviser to Commonwealth of Learning in Canada.

He has visited 35 countries as an invitee for giving lectures in seminars. He has received Life Time Achievement Award for Higher Education Federation and Surydatta Institute. He has been awarded Honorary Doctorate Degree by Tilka Manjhi Bhagalpur University, Nagarjuna University, Guru Nanak Dev University, Jagadguru Rambhadracharya Handicapped University, University of Calicut and Potti Sreeramulu Telugu University. He has won several honors notably being Phia Foundation Award, UNESCO honor, Swami Vivekanand Award, Advocate D R Nagakar Award, Shiromani Award, Delhi Ratan Award. He has also been given Life Time Achievement Award by several organizations.